Elopement Details

The Dress

Don’t believe the hype. Chances are you won’t cry or have a magical moment like they show on TV. I mean I cried, but not tears of joy… I said “Yes” to two dresses before finalizing on my actual wedding dress.

My first “yes” dress, was what I considered my dream dress, it was a laced, short sleeve, open-back dress by Watters. I actually purchased it after my first bridal appointment. However, once we left the bridal shop, my step-mother, sister (maid of honor) and best friend let me know their true feelings on the already purchased dress. Apparently, they were not fans and insisted I made a second bridal appointment to re-think my decision. So, later that week, I was back at the bridal shop, where I said “yes” to my second dress. Which of course could not be made and shipped in enough time. My only option was to keep the Size 10 Sample Dress that could not be altered…

IMG_1099IMG_1067

Third time’s a charm, right? My final “yes to the dress” moment, was with a dress I never would have even thought of trying on until the bridal consultant brought it to my attention. It had everything I swore I didn’t want (low-cut, halter back, spaghetti straps, mermaid style) yet I said yes, again.

Introducing: The Bexley Dress by Sottero and Midgley.
Purchased & Altered at: The Wedding Embassy in Watertown, CT.
IMG_1095

It was of course double the price of the first dress I purchased, and I insisted on chopping off the entire train and removing it’s main feature, the laced button-down back. However, this dress was covered in moonstones, which sold me.

2017.07.01-lydiaandjosh-46

 

 The Suit & Boutonniere 

My husband on the other hand, walked into Men’s Wearhouse and walked out (less than an hour later) with his Suit, Shirt, Shoes, Tie, Belt and a free Sport Coat. Convincing my husband to wear a boutonniere was the hardest part. So, I stuck pine into a used bullet shell, which swayed his vote on the boutonniere ban.

 

 The Bouquet

I stumbled upon a small flower shop in Bar Harbor, Queen Anne’s Flower Shop. I told the woman “I would like a rustic bouquet with wildflowers, greens, blue thistle, berries and absolutely no hot pink or red.” She nailed it.

2017.07.01-lyidaandjosh-204

 The Accessories

I have always looked up to my great-grandmother, Dorothy. She passed away when I was 15 years old. It wasn’t until I turned 25 that I actually started to realize how much we had in common. She too was a traveler and a lover of all things Southwestern. She always wore an assortment of turquoise Native American jewelry that she purchased throughout her travels. After she passed, some of her Native American jewelry made it’s way through the family tree to me. Rings, bangles and necklaces that I will forever cherish, and that I wore on my wedding day.
Along with my brown leather hiking boots of course.

 

While getting ready, I was given a small box.
Inside were turquoise feather earrings with a note from Josh.

 

While Josh got ready, I had his gifts delivered. I had Cufflinks made out of steel AK 47 bullets and a Tie Tack made out of an AR-15 bullet. I also came across a wishbone charm that said Good Luck. (Backstory: before we started officially dating we spent Thanksgiving at my Mom’s house, where we broke the turkey wishbone and ironically wished for the same thing).

IMG_3709

 

 The Bridal Party Gifts

Josh and I got engaged at the Carambola Tide Pools in St. Croix. While there I purchased four St. Croix Hook Bracelets (for myself, my maid of honor and bridesmaids).
I gave these as gifts when I asked the girls to be in my bridal party, and we wore them during the ceremony.
bBB5Yjf%QLe4RxdyPsShwQ

I also gave each of the girls a white satin robe with lace trim made by LeRoseGifts on Etsy. I cannot say enough good things about these robes, they exceeded my expectations! For myself, I got the luxe maxi lace robe (that I had to have hemmed because I am only 5’1) and a maxi dress from FreePeople for the evening.

 

 

2017.07.01-lydiaandjosh-52

I gave my best friend (Bridesman) a gift as well.
I customized this mug by FreckledFoxMugs on Etsy.

 

My dad wasn’t thrilled when he heard he wasn’t going to be doing the traditional “walk your daughter down the aisle to give her away” so during his “First Look” I gave him this embroidered handkerchief by ElegantMonogramming on Etsy.

IMG_3861

 

My husband gave his mother a sterling silver bracelet with a guardian charm, due to her love for angels. I wasn’t able to be there when she opened her gift, so I am extremely thankful our photographer captured this moment. Thank you Colin!

2017.07.01-lydiaandjosh-6

Josh gave his Best Man and Groomsman each a customized Ammo Can by DanielsCustomGifts on Etsy containing a cuban cigar, plasma lighter and flask.

 

As our 12 guests arrived to the hotel, we had a personalized gift bag waiting in each of their rooms. Containing items such as; bug spray, tissues, makeup remover, stain remover wipes, bayside breeze car fresheners, gum, nuts, beef jerky, granola bars, cookies, candy, nippers and of course the signature Wild Maine Blueberry Jam and Melville Maine Lobster Lollipops. Each with a corny name tag I made:fullsizeoutput_1c2e

 

The gift bags also included an Itinerary and Recommendations for the weekend.

The Bar Harbor Inn/Dinner Reception

Our dinner reception was held at The Bar Harbor Inn in the Garden Room (a private section in The Reading Room). I wore a white wrap maxi dress that I found at Nordstroms with brown leather strap sandals.

 

IMG_3893IMG_3930

 

Behind the Scene Photos and Confessions

 

 

 

 

 

 

  •  I never wear much make-up and couldn’t justify spending the money on myself.
    So, I did my own make-up and touched up my natural curls. I got plenty of the “but it’s your big day” opposing opinions and remarks, but rather than sitting in a salon chair, I spent my final “single” hours with my family.
  • In the back seat of my dad’s car, on our way up Cadillac Mountain, I realized I forgot the wedding bands back at the hotel. My dad had to pull a U-turn while leading our wedding party convoy, and I arrived fashionably late.
  • My cat, AvaMarie, was the Cat of Honor. Due to her busy schedule she couldn’t make the ceremony in Maine.
  • My final confession…
    I cried over changing my last name. It was unique and just had a certain flow to it. I loved when people struggled to pronounce it, and wouldn’t even attempt to spell it. My sister and I are it’s final generation, once we’re both married that’s it, it will vanish (in our family tree at least). So as I type this, I’m raising a glass to my old last name.
    Au revoir Lydia Lesieur.

☾LS

Leave a comment